How much does it cost to get married at City Hall in CT?

Can you get married at town hall in CT?

To apply for a marriage license, you and your spouse-to-be must appear in person at the local vital records office of the town where your marriage will occur. The marriage license is issued to ensure that you and your spouse-to-be are eligible to be married.

What documents do you need to get married in Connecticut?

Marriage Law Requirements for Connecticut Marriage Licenses:

  • The legal age for marriage in Connecticut is 18.
  • Both applicants must personally appear.
  • Valid form of identification (driver’s license, resident ID, passport or birth certificate)
  • A blood test is no longer required for a marriage license in Connecticut.

How many witnesses do you need to get married in CT?

Valid form of identification (Driver’s License, Resident ID, Passport or Birth Certificate). Marriage license is valid for 65 days. There is no waiting period in Connecticut to get married. Connecticut does not require that there be any witnesses (although religious entities may require witnesses).

THIS IS FUNNING:  How do I preserve my wedding cake forever?

How do I get married at City Hall in CT?

If you are planning to marry in Connecticut, you must obtain a marriage license from the vital records office of the town where the marriage will take place. There is a $50.00 fee for each marriage license. Payment must be submitted to the town at the time the marriage license is issued (see License to Get Married).

Can you get married the same day in Connecticut?

Same-day marriage in Connecticut is easy. From the start of the license application until you present it to a wedding officiant may be as little as twenty minutes. How long it takes to get your marriage license after you have filled out the marriage license application depends on how busy the office is.

Do you need witnesses to get married in CT?

No, there is no legal need for witnesses to be present at your wedding ceremony.

Who can marry you in CT?

(a) Persons authorized to solemnize marriages in this state include (1) all judges and retired judges, either elected or appointed, including federal judges and judges of other states who may legally join persons in marriage in their jurisdictions, (2) family support magistrates, state referees and justices of the …

How long does it take to get a marriage license?

The clerk processes the application and creates the marriage license to send to you. Processing can take two weeks from the date of your application. How long will it take to get a marriage license? Allow at least two weeks from the date of your application.

THIS IS FUNNING:  How much does it cost in total for a wedding?

Can I get a marriage license online?

You can begin the application process to receive a Marriage License online via “City Clerk Online”. This will speed up the process which then must be completed in person at the Office of the City Clerk. … You must wait a full 24 hours before your Marriage Ceremony can be performed unless you obtain a Judicial Waiver.

What do you need to bring to get your marriage license?

To obtain a marriage license you need:

  1. Identification: a picture ID such as a driver’s license, state ID card, or valid passport; both parties will also have to provide their Social Security numbers, but do not need to provide their Social Security Cards.
  2. Fees: $93.50.

How much does a wedding cost in CT?

The average cost of a wedding in 2020 was $20,300, a $4,400 per-wedding decrease from the year before.

The average cost of a wedding, by state.

State Cost per guest 2020 average cost
Colorado $315 $20,771
Connecticut $447 $29,499
District of Columbia $424 $27,965

Do you need to have a witness to get married?

Witnesses. You are legally required to have two witnesses at your wedding ceremony to witness and sign the marriage certificate. The Registry does not supply witnesses.